MegaMan Matrix

Welcome, Guest. Please Log In or Register. Did you miss your activation email?
4 May 2024, 03:36:23
RadioGallery (OFFLINE)MBoard + MChatRegisterLog In
The MBoard  |  Non-MegaMan  |  Any Other Business?  |  : Site coding advice
Pages: 1 Print
Author Topic: Site coding advice  (Read 975 times)
MOX
Robot Master

« on: 24 November 2009, 08:17:02 »

I'm trying to help make a website for my parents' business. I'm sure some of you guys here are proficient in coding sites which would be a great help because I'm a wannabe web designer.

I don't know any html or css, so what I've been doing is making creating the website design in photoshop, slicing it up, and editing it in dreamweaver.

For me to be able to type on a particular part of the design, what I do is remove the an image from the cell, put a table in its cell, and then put back the image as a table background so then I can type over the image. If you know a better method I'm open to hear.

What I want to do is add a vertical scroll bar in that table so that when I type, the text will automatically go down a line rather than stretching the table and ruining the site layout.

This is the table I want the put the scrollbar in:

<td width="567" height="286" colspan="3" valign="top" background="images/CONTENT.jpg">&nbsp;This is some text.</td>

I tried my hand at putting the scrollbar in, but it intead of the text going down a line, it stays on the same line and a horizontal scrollbar pops up instead.

<td width="567" height="286" colspan="3" valign="top" background="images/CONTENT.jpg"><div style=" width:567px; height:286px; overflow-y:scroll ">&nbsp;This is some text.</div></td>
Mikero
Super Robot

« Reply #1 on: 21 December 2009, 08:16:25 »

I'm having a hard time understanding why the table wouldn't do that automatically...